search cancel cancel-medium


The Education Research Alliance for New Orleans includes an internal team of expert researchers, a National Research Team of experts from across the country, partners within Tulane, and a Board of Advisors that includes local community groups, teacher unions, and local and state government agencies.

Leadership and Staff

Douglas Harris
​Douglas N. Harris Director

Doug is our founding Director, Tulane Professor of Economics, and Schlieder Foundation Chair in Public Education. His research has helped inform and influence national debates over a range of education policies, especially in charter-based school reform, teacher evaluation, accountability, and college access.

Read more…

Sara Slaughter
Sara Slaughter Associate Director, Communications and Operations

As our Associate Director of Communications and Operations, Sara Slaughter oversees all aspects of ERA-New Orleans' organizational operations, communications, and finances.

Read more…

Jamie Carroll
Jamie M. Carroll Senior Research Fellow

Jamie M. Carroll is a Senior Research Fellow at ERA-New Orleans.

Read more…

Marco pariguana
Marco Pariguana Postdoctoral Fellow

Marco Pariguana is a Postdoctoral Fellow at the Education Research Alliance for New Orleans.

Read more…

Deanna Allen
Deanna Allen Senior Administrative Program Coordinator

Deanna Allen is our Senior Administrative Program Coordinator, and she manages the office's day-to-day operations, tracks organizational budgets, and coordinates internal communications and meetings.

Read more…

Graduate Research Associates

Non-Resident Research Fellows

National Research Team

Zimmer  Ron
Ronald Zimmer National Collaborator

Advisory Board

Institutional Members

  • Adrienne Dixson, United Teachers of New Orleans
  • Caroline Roemer, Louisiana Association of Public Charter Schools
  • Laura Boudreaux, Louisiana Department of Education
  • Todd Battiste, Urban League of Louisiana
  • Peter Davis, Orleans Public Education Network
  • Laura Hawkins, New Schools for New Orleans
  • Mary Garton, New Orleans Public Schools
  • Tia Mills, Louisiana Association of Educators

Individual Members

  • Jamie Beck, Parent Representative
  • Steve Corbett, School Leader Representative
  • Adrinda Kelly, Community Member Representative
  • Erica Vance, Teacher Representative


Partner Organizations


Partners at Tulane University